Page areas
Content

Raw and Delicate

Austria as a design nation – tradition meets innovation

The compatibility with day-to-day life of traditional ways of life, the rugged and impressive scenery, the cultural highlights in the urban centres, the young and ambitious up-and-coming talent, the internationally recognised greats of Austrian design and Austria’s innovative furniture and product trends paired with the long history of expert craftsmanship handed down over multiple generations – these served as the starting point for the development of the ‘Raw and Delicate’ concept, now associated with the Austrian Furniture Industry. The designer Georg OEhler was one of those behind this idea.

At least since the 2008 publication of the ‘Global Design Watch’ study by DESIGNIUM, the New Centre of Innovation in Design at the University of Art and Design Helsinki (UIAH), Austria’s status as a design nation has been clear, as has its leading position in international comparisons as regards competitiveness, its economic and employment situation, training opportunities, technological performance and its policy on subsidies. Austria did not achieve its status as a design nation overnight. Long before ‘design’ was considered an entity of its own, there were designers active in Austria who were creating a stir with their work. Josef Hoffmann and Koloman Moser – who would today be referred to as star designers – founded the Wiener Werkstätte (‘Viennese Workshops’) in 1903 together with the industrialist Fritz Wärndorfer with the aim of renewing the concept of art on the basis of arts and crafts. Furniture, everyday objects, textiles, ceramics and jewellery were produced in a number of independent studios. As the innovative spirit of the Wiener Werkstätte took hold at the start of the 20th century, more and more Viennese family businesses such as Augarten, Backhausen, Lobmeyr and Wittmann became interested in the work of the Viennese Workshops and developed their own product lines. The history of Austrian design starts with their commitment, their vision for the future and their decision to cooperate with artists and architect.

Brief profile of Georg OEhler:
Georg lives and works in London and his work includes interiors, furniture, lighting design and exhibition concepts. He has his own studio and also holds the position of creative director at the global company MK Illumination. His design work revolves around storytelling and conceptual work. From furniture to interiors, stories act as a guiding thread and concepts create a smooth transition to branding and brand development. The use of natural materials and a deep appreciation of traditional artisan skills are clearly recognisable in all his work. His interiors combine subtle luxury and nonchalance.

Seitenbereiche
Inhalt

Raw and Delicate

Designland Österreich: Tradition und Innovation

Die Alltagstauglichkeit traditioneller Lebensformen, die rauen und beeindruckenden Landschaften, die hochkulturellen Glanzpunkte in den urbanen Zentren, die jungen und zielstrebigen Nachwuchstalente, die international anerkannten Größen des österreichischen Designs und Österreichs innovative Möbel- und Produkttrends gepaart mit der Könnerschaft des traditionellen Handwerks, das mehrere Generationen zurückreicht - das waren die Vorbilder bei der Entwicklung des Konzepts “Raw and Delicate”, das nun für die Österreichische Möbelindustrie steht. Hinter der Idee stand unter anderem der Designer DI Georg Öhler.

Spätestens seit der 2008 erschienenen Studie „Global Design Watch“ von DESIGNIUM, dem New Centre of Innovation in Design der Universität für Kunst und Design in Helsinki (UIAH), steht fest, dass Österreich ein Designland ist und im Hinblick auf die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit – Wirtschafts- und Arbeitsmarktsituation, Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten, technologische Leistungsfähigkeit, Förderpolitik – im Ländervergleich weit vorne rangiert. Österreichs Status als Designland kommt nicht von ungefähr. Lange noch bevor sich „Design“ als eigenständige Bezeichnung durchgesetzt hat, waren in Österreich Gestalter aktiv, die mit ihren Arbeiten Aufsehen erregten. Josef Hoffmann und Koloman Moser – heute würde man sie als „Stardesigner“ bezeichnen – gründeten 1903 gemeinsam mit dem Industriellen Fritz Wärndorfer die Wiener Werkstätte mit dem Ziel, den Kunstbegriff im Bereich des Kunstgewerbes zu erneuern. In einer Reihe von selbstständigen Ateliers entstanden Möbel, Gebrauchsgegenstände, Textilien, Keramiken und Schmuck. Vom Innovationsgeist der Wiener Werkstätte Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts infiziert, interessierten sich immer mehr Wiener Familienbetriebe wie z.B. Augarten, Backhausen, Lobmeyr oder Wittmann für die Arbeiten der Wiener Werkstätte und entwickelten eigene Produktlinien. Mit ihrem Engagement, ihrem Weitblick für die Zukunft und die Entscheidung, mit KünstlerInnen und ArchitektInnen zu kooperieren, beginnt die Geschichte des österreichischen Designs.

Kurzportrait Georg Oehler:
Er lebt und arbeitet in London, seine Arbeiten umfassen Interieurs, Möbel, Lichtdesign und Austellungskonzepte. Er betreibt sein eigenes Studio und ist auch künstlerischer Leiter beim weltweit tätigen Unternehmen MK Illumination. Den Kern seiner Designarbeit bilden Story telling und konzeptuelles Arbeiten. Vom Möbel über Interieurs bilden Geschichten einen Leitfaden und die Konzepte bilden einen fließenden Übergang zu Branding und Markenbildung. Die Verwendung von natürlichen Materialien und eine hohe Wertschätzung von traditionellen Handwerkskönnen sind in allen Werken ablesbar. In seinen Interieurs vereinen sich subtiler Luxus und Nonchalance.